15 Sep 16 – My statement on the Leadership Contest

I’ll be heading off to UKIP party conference soon. I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who has offered support and encouragement to me during these 6 weeks of the UKIP leadership contest. At times it has been tough but it’s been well worth it.

I stood for the leadership for several reasons I believe I have a lot of talent and ability to offer to our party.

I always knew it would be hard to win. But sometimes in life you have to take a stand and fight for what you believe in.

I have given it my all and did the best I could with the few resources I had.

The British people want a real alternative and frankly we are the only party that can and will be the change British politics needs.

Also I believed that we needed a broad open democratic debate about the future policy and direction of our party.

It is a great shame in my view that one candidate in this race stopped that debate and those TV debates from happening.

Whatever the result tomorrow I’m proud of the fact I had the guts to stand and the bottle to see it through to the end.

Phillip Broughton – UKIP Leadership Candidate

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.