23 June 17 – UKIP leadership contest statement

I will not be standing as a candidate in the UKIP leadership contest. Following the general election, I am taking a break from politics to consider my future.

When I stood in last year’s leadership contest I said that the party must broaden the message by talking about more than just Europe and immigration and we must change our tone. I warned if the party didn’t do these things it risked becoming irrelevant, following the disastrous results for UKIP in the general election two weeks ago my arguments have been proved right.

Instead of banging on about banning Burkas we need to bang on about the NHS, schools, law and order and the economy.

The party now faces a choice that it can no longer ignore change or die.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.